Vintage Christmas cookie swap recipes: Czechoslovakian Pastries, 1952

This book was given to me three years ago, for Christmas. My family has an old friend, a woman who practically raised my brother and me during the time our parents were at work. Every time I go home to Milwaukee, I visit her. She is my constant, and my ever-enthusiastic cheerleader, and when she heard about The Vintage Eats Project, she went upstairs and came back with two cookbooks: a Czechoslovakian Pastries book (that belonged to her mother) from 1952 and a White House cookbook from the Coolidge years.

The year I got it, I made a Christmas loaf dotted with raisins and almonds.

This year, I invite you to try making these Czechoslovakian Christmas cookies:

At first glance, these look like sugar cookies to me. Try one of these variations:

If you have a hard time reading them here, I’m glad to send you the pages via email – just contact me at jennifer.ede@gmail.com. Happy holidays!

Published in: on 7 December, 2011 at 12:12  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://projectvintageeats.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/vintage-christmas-cookie-swap-recipes-czechoslovakian-pastries-1952/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

